
What Does a College Admissions Consultant in Edison Actually Do?
A college admissions consultant in Edison has to solve a calibration problem before anything else. The district reports a weighted GPA on a scale where an A+ in an Honors or AP course is worth 6.33, so weighted averages above 5.0 are common and mean nothing to a reader without the school profile. Class rank is not reported. And the two comprehensive high schools, J.P. Stevens and Edison High, send very different files to the same colleges under identical policies. The consultant’s first job is to translate the student’s record into the terms a selective college will use, and the second is to build the activities, testing, and essays that will separate the student from several hundred classmates with similar transcripts.
Our guides to how the high school profile shapes college admissions and whether your high school matters for college admissions explain why the profile matters more than the number; this page applies that reading to the schools Edison students attend.
How Do Selective Colleges Read a J.P. Stevens or Edison High School Transcript?
Both schools follow the Edison Township Program of Studies, so the grading, weighting, and rank policies below are district wide. The school level figures come from the New Jersey School Performance Reports and, for Edison High School, its own 2024-2025 profile; J.P. Stevens does not publish a school profile PDF on its counseling pages.
| Fact | J.P. Stevens High School | Edison High School |
|---|---|---|
| Enrollment (2023-24) | 2,682 students; 696 in grade 12 | 2,315 students; 555 in grade 12; 532 seniors in the Class of 2024 |
| Course levels | Academic (level 2), Accelerated (level 1), Honors, and AP, district wide | Same three tiers on the profile: Honors (1), Accelerated (2), Regular |
| Weighted GPA points | Honors and AP A+ 6.33, A 6.00; Accelerated A+ 5.33, A 5.00; Regular A+ 4.33, A 4.00 | Same scale, printed on the profile |
| Unweighted GPA | Reported alongside weighted on the transcript; A+ 4.33, A 4.00 | Same |
| Class rank | Not reported except for National Merit, NJ STARS, service academies, and requested scholarships | Same policy, printed on the profile |
| AP courses | 24 named in the district Program of Studies; staff recommendation required; no cap found; AP exam expected of every AP student | 22 listed on the profile, including AP Seminar, AP Research, AP Music Theory, and AP Studio Art |
| AP participation (2023-24) | 60.3 percent of 11th and 12th graders in at least one AP or IB course | 31.5 percent; 1,086 exams taken |
| SAT (2023-24) | Math 673, Reading and Writing 646; 86.8 percent participation | Math 572, Reading and Writing 576; 57.1 percent participation |
| ACT (2023-24) | Math 30, Reading 29, English 29, Science 28; 11.1 percent participation | Math 23, Reading 23, English 24, Science 23 |
| Outcomes | Four year graduation rate 97.1 percent; college placement not published | Class of 2024: 55 percent four year, 26 percent two year, 19 percent other |
A reader handling a J.P. Stevens file sees a large, high testing, AP heavy school where the top several hundred students carry Honors and AP schedules and weighted GPAs well above 5.0. The unweighted GPA and the course level labels do the sorting, and the SAT averages tell the reader that a 1450 is strong but not rare. A reader handling an Edison High School file sees a school where AP participation is half that of J.P. Stevens and where a full Honors and AP schedule stands out inside the building; the same 1450 from Edison High reads as exceptional in context. That is the advantage of the school profile working in a student’s favor, and it is the reason our guide to AP course strategy for New Jersey public school students treats the two schools differently.
How Do the Magnet and Private Options Around Edison Differ?
| School | GPA and Rank | Advanced Coursework | Testing and Outcomes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Middlesex County Academy for Science, Mathematics and Engineering Technologies (public county magnet, Edison; 173 students, 41 seniors) | Weighting and rank policy not printed on the profile | Prescribed engineering sequence with 11 named AP courses in the standard track | Class of 2025 mean SAT 1462 (738 and 764); 26 National Merit Commended, 14 Semifinalists, 14 Finalists; 100 percent college attendance; Class of 2025 enrolled at Harvard, MIT, Columbia, Penn, Duke, Cornell, Rice, Carnegie Mellon, Georgia Tech, Northwestern, UC Berkeley, and others |
| The Wardlaw+Hartridge School (private, PreK to 12, Edison; 60 in the Class of 2026) | Weighted 100 point scale: Honors x 1.025, AP x 1.05; Class of 2026 average weighted GPA 93.57, range 70.13 to 102.14; no rank | 23 AP and 24 Honors classes; 28 percent of seniors approved for more than three APs and only 13 percent for five | Four year SAT middle 50 percent 589 to 722 ERW and 585 to 757 Math; ACT 26 to 33; five year matriculation list marks multiple placements at Princeton, Brown, Georgetown, Tufts, UC Berkeley, UCLA, WashU, and Carnegie Mellon |
| Rutgers Preparatory School (private, PreK to 12, Somerset) | Weighted: Honors add 0.333 and AP add 0.667 on a 4.0 scale; rank policy not published | AP caps by grade: two in 10th, three in 11th, four in 12th, none in 9th; post AP multivariable calculus and linear algebra | Test averages not published; 100 percent of graduates attend four year colleges; the published list is acceptances rather than enrollments |
Each of these schools writes its own rulebook into the profile. The Academy is a lock step STEM program where the reader expects the standard AP sequence and looks at the National Merit density and the 1462 mean SAT for context. Wardlaw+Hartridge tells colleges outright that five APs is the maximum load and that only 13 percent of seniors are permitted it, so a four AP senior year reads as near the top. Rutgers Prep publishes a grade by grade AP cap of two, three, and four, which means a reader never sees an AP course in 9th grade and does not penalize its absence.
Where Do Edison Students Enroll?
Edison is unusual among the towns in this series in that neither comprehensive high school publishes a college by college matriculation list. The Edison High School profile reports destinations by type only, and J.P. Stevens publishes no profile. The lists that exist come from the magnet and the private schools.
- Middlesex County Academy, Class of 2025 (41 students, no counts): Carnegie Mellon, Columbia, Cornell, Georgia Tech, Duke, Harvard, MIT, Northwestern, NJIT, NYU, Purdue, RPI, Rutgers, Rice, Alabama, Penn, UIUC, UC Berkeley, Maryland, and Richmond.
- Wardlaw+Hartridge, Classes of 2021 to 2025 (five years, multiple placements marked): Amherst, Barnard, Boston University, Brown, Carnegie Mellon, Case Western, Emory, Georgetown, Lehigh, NYU, Northeastern, Penn State, Princeton, Purdue, Rutgers New Brunswick, Stevens, Tufts, UC Berkeley, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UCLA, UIUC, Michigan, Rochester, UVA, Vassar, Villanova, Virginia Tech, and WashU.
- Edison High School, Class of 2024 (by type): 55 percent four year colleges, 26 percent two year colleges, 19 percent other plans.
For J.P. Stevens families the absence of a published list is itself useful information: colleges receive the transcript with the district policy and the state performance data, and the counselor letter carries the contextual weight that a matriculation list would otherwise supply. A consultant working with a J.P. Stevens student builds the college list from the student’s own record and from the Common Data Set of each target college rather than from a school pipeline.
What Does the Data Mean for an Edison Family Targeting Selective Colleges?
First, the weighted GPA is a poor guide to standing. On a 6.33 scale a 5.4 can be anywhere from the top tenth to the middle of an Honors heavy class, so families should track the unweighted GPA and the number of Honors and AP courses, which is what the reader tracks. Second, the choice of school inside the district changes the reading. A J.P. Stevens transcript is read against a class with 60 percent AP participation and a 1319 average SAT; an Edison High transcript is read against a class with 31.5 percent AP participation and a 1148 average, and the same record reads stronger at Edison High.
Third, the magnet route is a genuine alternative for STEM students, with 14 Semifinalists and a 1462 mean SAT from a class of 41, but it commits a student to a prescribed sequence from 9th grade. Fourth, with several hundred J.P. Stevens students carrying similar Honors and AP schedules, the file that shows a sustained pursuit with a measurable result, a well built list, and essays that do real work is the one that separates. Another AP course rarely does.
What Should Edison Families Do in Each Grade?
| Grade | J.P. Stevens and Edison High School | Academy, Wardlaw+Hartridge, Rutgers Prep |
|---|---|---|
| 8th and 9th | Decide on the magnet application by the county deadline; earn the staff recommendations that open Honors placement; AP Human Geography is open to 9th graders | Rutgers Prep: no AP in 9th by policy; Academy: the sequence begins |
| 10th | First AP courses by recommendation; PSAT 10 baseline; track unweighted GPA | Rutgers Prep: up to two APs; Wardlaw+Hartridge: prerequisites for AP approval |
| 11th | Peak AP year; every AP student sits the exam; SAT or ACT in spring; PSAT/NMSQT for National Merit | Rutgers Prep: up to three APs; Wardlaw+Hartridge: approval for more than three APs is selective |
| 12th | Sustain rigor; college list built from the student record and target college data rather than a school pipeline | Rutgers Prep: up to four APs; Wardlaw+Hartridge: five APs only for the 13 percent approved |
When Should an Edison Family Bring in a College Admissions Consultant?
The magnet decision in 8th grade and the Honors placement decisions in 9th and 10th grade are the two points where a plan changes outcomes, so families weighing those choices benefit from advice early. Families whose student is already on the Honors and AP track at J.P. Stevens most often need help with the application year, where the list and the essays have to do the separating. Our guides to whether you need a college admissions consultant, when to hire one, and what to expect from a first consultation set out the decision.
How Does Oriel Admissions Work With Edison Families?
Oriel Admissions is based in Princeton, roughly 30 miles from Edison, and works as a college admissions consultant for Edison families and for families nationwide, in person and remotely. Every engagement starts by translating the district’s 6.33 scale and the school’s own data into the terms a selective college reader uses, then building strategy, positioning, activities, essays, and interviews as one coherent whole. Our guide to college counselors in New Jersey explains how to evaluate any consultant, including us.
Frequently Asked Questions
Because the Edison Township scale awards 6.33 for an A+ and 6.00 for an A in an Honors or AP course, 5.33 and 5.00 in an Accelerated course, and 4.33 and 4.00 in a Regular course. A student carrying a full Honors and AP schedule with A grades approaches 6.0. Colleges receive the scale in the school profile and read the weighted number against it, and the transcript also reports an unweighted GPA on a 4.33 scale.
No. Board of Education policy states that class rank shall not be reported or released except as provided in the procedures, and the listed exceptions are National Merit, NJ STARS and the state Department of Education, military academies, and scholarship programs that request it. Colleges therefore read the GPA against the school profile rather than against a rank.
Neither is better in the abstract; they are read differently. J.P. Stevens has 60.3 percent AP participation and average SAT sections of 673 and 646, so a strong record is common inside the building. Edison High School has 31.5 percent AP participation and averages of 572 and 576, so the same record stands out more. A selective college compares a student with classmates first, which cuts both ways.
The Academy enrolls about 173 students in a prescribed engineering sequence and graduated 41 seniors in the Class of 2025 with a mean SAT of 1462, 14 National Merit Semifinalists, and 14 Finalists, and 100 percent college attendance. Admission is by application through the county magnet system in 8th grade. It suits students who want a lock step STEM program and who will not need flexibility in course choice.
The 2026-2027 Curriculum Guide sets caps of two AP courses in 10th grade, three in 11th, and four in 12th, with no AP in 9th grade and an appeal process by form at the end of April. Honors courses add 0.333 and AP courses add 0.667 to the GPA. Colleges receive the caps in the school profile, so a Rutgers Prep transcript is read against that ceiling.
It is the average weighted GPA for the Class of 2026 on the school’s own 100 point scale, where Honors grades are multiplied by 1.025 and AP grades by 1.05, and the class range runs from 70.13 to 102.14. It is not a percentage conversion of a 4.0 GPA. Colleges read it against the distribution the school prints and against the AP load policy that limits five APs to 13 percent of seniors.
Not by college. The Edison High School profile reports that 55 percent of the Class of 2024 enrolled at four year colleges, 26 percent at two year colleges, and 19 percent chose other plans, and J.P. Stevens publishes no school profile on its counseling pages. Families who want to know where recent graduates went should ask the counseling office directly or work from the Naviance data available to enrolled students.
The range the target college publishes, read in the context of the school. J.P. Stevens averaged 673 in Math and 646 in Reading and Writing in 2023-24, and Edison High averaged 572 and 576. An applicant to a college with a 1500 plus middle 50 percent should plan for that range regardless of school; an applicant from Edison High with a 1450 will be read as exceptional within the building, which helps but does not replace the target range.
Sources: Edison Township Public Schools Program of Studies 2024-25, NJ School Performance Report 2023-24, J.P. Stevens High School, Edison High School Profile 2024-2025, NJ School Performance Report 2023-24, Edison High School, Middlesex County Academy School Profile 2025-2026, The Wardlaw+Hartridge School Profile 2025-2026, Rutgers Preparatory School Curriculum Guide.
About Oriel Admissions
Oriel Admissions is a Princeton-based college admissions consulting firm advising families nationwide on elite university admissions strategy. Our team brings deep expertise across every dimension of the application, and our distinctive 360 approach develops strategy, positioning, activities, essays, and interviews as one coherent whole. To discuss your family’s admissions strategy, schedule a consultation.







