
What Does a College Admissions Consultant in Westwood Actually Do?
A college admissions consultant in Westwood starts with a gap: Westwood High School does not publish its school profile. The district’s old site pointed families to the state DESE profile, and the new site lists no profile document under counseling, seniors, juniors, or documents. The profile exists, because the counseling office sends one with every transcript, but a family cannot read it online, and the rules a family can read come from the Program of Studies. Those rules are specific. Every student receives a weighted GPA on a 4.5 scale and an unweighted GPA on a 4.0 scale at the end of every term, AP and Honors courses carry the identical 4.5 for an A, and every AP student is expected to take the exam. The consultant’s first job is to obtain the current profile from the counseling office, and the second is to plan a schedule in which the course titles, not the weight, tell a reader which courses were AP. At Xaverian, Nobles, Dexter Southfield, and St. Sebastian’s, the schools Westwood families most often weigh, the rules differ again.
Our guides to how the high school profile shapes college admissions and whether your high school matters for college admissions explain the reading a selective college performs; this page applies it to the Westwood schools. Our Dedham page and Medfield page cover the neighboring towns.
How Do Selective Colleges Read a Westwood High School Transcript?
| Westwood High School (Program of Studies 2026-2027 and DESE) | What the Sources State |
|---|---|
| Enrollment | DESE 2025-26: 826 students; grade 9 202, grade 10 206, grade 11 222, grade 12 196 |
| Grading | Letter grades A, B, C, and D are passing with full credit; F is failure with no credit; letter to percentage ranges are not printed |
| GPA | Two GPAs calculated for every student at the end of each term: weighted on a 4.5 scale and unweighted on a 4.0 scale |
| Weighting table | AP and Honors: A 4.50, A- 4.17, B+ 3.83, B 3.50, B- 3.17, C+ 2.83, C 2.50; Accelerated College Prep and College Prep: A 4.00, A- 3.67, B+ 3.33, B 3.00, B- 2.67, C+ 2.33, C 2.00; AP and Honors carry the same weight |
| Class rank | Not stated in the Program of Studies; no profile was located, so the policy is not published |
| AP courses | At least 12 named in the readable sections: Literature and Composition, Language and Composition, Seminar, Statistics, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Biology, Chemistry, Physics 1, Physics 2, Computer Science Principles, Computer Science A; the social studies and world language sections could not be read, so the total is larger |
| AP access | Seniors seeking seven major courses need counselor permission and space; AP Chemistry is open to sophomores only by department chair recommendation with no override; every AP course states that students are expected to take the AP exam; parents may initiate a course override by the April deadline |
| AP results | DESE 2024-25: 1,026 exams taken, 93 percent scored 3 to 5 |
| SAT | DESE 2024-25: 222 students tested, Reading and Writing 636, Math 633; the school itself publishes no test data |
| Outcomes | DESE 2024-25: 58.5 percent to four year private colleges, 35.6 percent to four year public colleges, 94.1 percent four year combined, 2.0 percent two year public |
| Matriculation | No list is published on the school or district site |
Three things drive the Westwood reading. First, the two GPAs. A reader receives both a 4.5 scale weighted figure and a 4.0 scale unweighted figure, and because AP and Honors carry the same weight, the weighted number says how many courses were above College Prep but not how many were AP; the reader gets that from the course titles. A student with straight A grades across an all Honors schedule and a student with the same grades across an all AP schedule both show 4.5, and the difference has to be visible in the transcript itself. Second, the AP exam expectation and the sophomore rule. Every AP course states that students are expected to take the exam, and AP Chemistry is closed to sophomores except by department chair recommendation, so the earliest AP science for most students is junior year. Third, the outcome numbers. With 1,026 AP exams from 826 students, about 1.2 exams per enrolled student, and 93 percent at 3 or higher, AP is the norm rather than the exception, and 94.1 percent of graduates go to four year colleges, so a strong Westwood applicant is compared against a class in which rigor is common.
How Do Westwood Area Independent School Transcripts Differ?
| School | Published Policy | Advanced Coursework | Matriculation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xaverian Brothers High School (Catholic, boys, grades 7 to 12, Westwood; 981 students, 190 seniors per DESE) | The school profile is hosted on a platform that could not be read for this page; grading, GPA, and rank statements are therefore not reproduced here | Four course levels: AP, Honors, Accelerated, and College Prep; 23 AP courses, 2 of them offered to 9th graders | The website lists colleges graduates have been accepted to, without counts or years, including Harvard, Yale, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Georgetown, Notre Dame, Boston College, Tufts, and the service academies |
| Noble and Greenough (co-ed, grades 7 to 12, Dedham; 635 students, 129 in the Class of 2026) | Does not weight or publish GPAs or rank students; the profile attributes this to a rigorous curriculum and selective admissions | Most AP courses require prerequisites and open in junior and senior year; for most students the maximum is five; Classes of 2025 and 2026: 233 students took 834 exams, 94 percent at 3 or higher; SAT middle 50 percent 1320 to 1540, median 1470; ACT 28 to 35, median 32 | Classes of 2021 to 2025: Harvard 40, Boston College 29, Georgetown 24, Chicago 23, Northeastern 23, Williams 23, Yale 23, Tufts 22, Dartmouth 21, Brown 20, Middlebury 20, Virginia 19, Princeton 18, Duke 16, Wake Forest 15, Bowdoin 14, MIT 6, Penn 6, Stanford 6 |
| Dexter Southfield (co-ed, PreK to 12, Brookline; 442 upper school students, 112 in Class 12) | Unweighted letter points with A+ 4.3; end of year grades receive one additional point for AP and half a point for Honors in the weighted GPA; students are not ranked | 20 AP and 42 Honors courses; AP and Honors electives typically available from junior year; the 2024-25 profile required administrative approval for three or more AP courses | Classes of 2020 to 2024, ten or more each at Babson, Boston College, Boston University, Colby, Northeastern, Providence, Syracuse, Trinity, and Tufts; five to nine at Harvard, Michigan, Virginia, Wake Forest, and others; 100 percent to four year colleges |
| St. Sebastian’s School (Catholic, boys, grades 7 to 12, Needham; 390 students, 65 in the Class of 2026) | The profile prints no grading scale, GPA rule, rank policy, or test scores | 20 AP courses; all AP students are required to take the AP exam; 100 percent to four year colleges | Five year website list: Holy Cross 28, Boston College 24, Providence 16, Villanova 16, Georgetown 15, Harvard 12, Colby 11, Trinity 9, Tufts 7, Brown 5, Michigan 5, Virginia 5, Dartmouth 4, Duke 4, Princeton 3, Yale 1 |
Xaverian is the school in Westwood itself, and its public data is a course structure and an acceptance list rather than a profile. Nobles, a few minutes away in Dedham, is the school whose reporting differs most from Westwood High: no GPA, no rank, AP capped in practice at five and confined to the upper two years, and a five year matriculation list in which Harvard alone accounts for 40 placements from classes of about 130. Dexter Southfield keeps an explicit weighting rule and required approval for a third AP course in its 2024-25 profile, so an AP heavy Dexter transcript reads as approved rather than routine. St. Sebastian’s prints almost no policy data and lets its matriculation list, led by Holy Cross, Boston College, Providence, Villanova, and Georgetown, speak for it.
Where Do Westwood Graduates Enroll?
- Westwood High School: no matriculation list is published on a primary source. DESE 2024-25 reports 58.5 percent of graduates at four year private colleges and 35.6 percent at four year public colleges, a 94.1 percent four year rate that exceeds Wayland, Milton, Hopkinton, and Marblehead on the same state report. A family can request the current per college list from the counseling office.
- Xaverian Brothers (acceptances, no counts or years): Harvard, Yale, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Vanderbilt, Virginia, Boston College, Tufts, Northeastern, Villanova, Holy Cross, Providence, West Point, the Naval Academy, and the Air Force Academy among about 75 institutions.
- Noble and Greenough, Classes of 2021 to 2025 (five years): Harvard 40, Boston College 29, Georgetown 24, Chicago 23, Northeastern 23, Williams 23, Yale 23, Tufts 22, Dartmouth 21, Brown 20, Middlebury 20, Virginia 19, Princeton 18, Duke 16, Wake Forest 15, Bowdoin 14, Trinity 13, Amherst 12, Michigan 12, Cornell 11, WashU 11, Colgate 10, Northwestern 10, Columbia 9, NYU 9, UMass Amherst 9, Hamilton 9, MIT 6, Penn 6, Stanford 6.
- St. Sebastian’s, five years: Holy Cross 28, Boston College 24, Providence 16, Villanova 16, Georgetown 15, Harvard 12, Colby 11, Trinity 9, Tufts 7, Fordham 6, Middlebury 6, Northeastern 6, Notre Dame 6, Wake Forest 6, Brown 5, Bucknell 5, Clemson 5, Michigan 5, Virginia 5, Dartmouth 4, Duke 4, Princeton 3, Amherst 3, Vanderbilt 3, Cornell 2, Penn 2, Yale 1.
The Nobles list shows more than 150 Ivy League, Stanford, and MIT enrollments from five classes, one of the densest pipelines in New England, and the St. Sebastian’s list shows a Catholic college core with a Harvard and Georgetown top. For Westwood High School the absence of a published list and a published profile means a family should not infer the pattern from the neighboring independent schools; the counseling office has the data, and a consultant will ask for it before building a list.
What Does the Data Mean for a Westwood Family Targeting Selective Colleges?
First, at Westwood High School the identical AP and Honors weight means the weighted GPA cannot show how many courses were AP, so the schedule should reach AP in the core subjects by junior year and the transcript should make that visible. Second, the exam expectation attached to every AP course means each AP on the transcript will have a score behind it, so AP choices should favor subjects where a 4 or 5 is realistic. Third, the sophomore rule on AP Chemistry and the permission requirement for a seventh major course set the practical ceiling: three to four AP courses in junior year and four to five in senior year is the shape of a top Westwood schedule, and a family should confirm the school’s own view of that ceiling on the profile the counseling office sends.
Fourth, at Nobles and Dexter Southfield the reader translates the school’s labels through the profile, and at Nobles the absence of any GPA puts the weight on the course list, the college office letter, and the essays. Fifth, the pipelines are specific: Harvard, Boston College, Georgetown, Chicago, Williams, and Yale from Nobles; Holy Cross, Boston College, Providence, and Villanova from St. Sebastian’s; Babson, Boston College, Colby, Northeastern, and Tufts from Dexter Southfield. A list built with those patterns in view is more realistic than one built from national rankings alone.
What Should Westwood Families Do in Each Grade?
| Grade | Westwood High School | Xaverian, Nobles, Dexter Southfield, and St. Sebastian’s |
|---|---|---|
| 9th | Honors placement across the core, since Honors is the 4.5 track and the gate to AP; build both GPAs; start one activity worth four years | At Xaverian the two AP courses open to 9th graders; at Nobles no AP until junior year, so placement and habits matter more than the transcript |
| 10th | First AP where prerequisites allow; AP Chemistry only by department chair recommendation; PSAT 10 baseline | Honors placements; at Dexter Southfield understand the approval process for three or more AP courses |
| 11th | AP in the core subjects with exams planned for 4s and 5s; the junior schedule and grades carry the most weight; SAT or ACT in spring against the 636 and 633 state means | Peak rigor year; at Nobles the first AP year with a practical maximum of five across two years; SAT or ACT in spring |
| 12th | Peak AP load, with counselor permission for a seventh major course; college list built with the counseling office’s profile and per college data in hand | College list built with the five year pipeline in view; senior fall grades matter for early applications |
When Should a Westwood Family Bring in a College Admissions Consultant?
The Honors placements that set up the AP track are made from 9th grade onward, and the choice among Westwood High, Xaverian, Nobles, and the other independent schools is made earlier still, so families weighing those decisions benefit from a plan built early. Families whose student is already positioned well most often need the application year: a list built from the school’s own data rather than from rankings, essays that separate one of many strong files, and interview preparation. Our guides to whether you need a college admissions consultant, when to hire one, and what to expect from a first consultation set out the decision.
How Does Oriel Admissions Work With Westwood Families?
Oriel Admissions is based in Princeton with a New York presence and works as a college admissions consultant for Westwood families and for families nationwide, in person and remotely. Every engagement starts with the student’s own school profile, so a Westwood High School plan is built around the two GPAs, the identical AP and Honors weight, and the exam expectation, and a Nobles, Xaverian, Dexter Southfield, or St. Sebastian’s plan around the school’s own course labels and its pipeline. Our team develops strategy, positioning, activities, essays, and interviews as one coherent whole. Our guide to choosing a college consultant in Boston explains how to evaluate any consultant, including us.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Program of Studies states that a weighted GPA on a 4.5 scale and an unweighted GPA on a 4.0 scale are calculated for every student at the end of each term. An A is worth 4.50 in an AP or Honors course and 4.00 in an Accelerated College Prep or College Prep course, so AP and Honors carry the same weight and colleges distinguish them by course title.
Not online. The district’s older site pointed families to the state DESE profile, and the current school site lists no profile under counseling, seniors, juniors, or documents. The counseling office sends a profile with every transcript, so families should request the current edition directly, including the class rank policy, which is not stated in the Program of Studies.
The school publishes no test data. DESE reports that 222 Westwood students posted 2024-25 means of 636 in Reading and Writing and 633 in Math, among the highest of the Boston suburban public schools on this site. A selective college compares an applicant to its own middle 50 percent, not to the school mean.
Only by department chair recommendation. The Program of Studies states that AP Chemistry is open to sophomores by recommendation only and that sophomores are not permitted to override into the course. For most students the first AP science is junior year, and every AP course states that students are expected to take the AP exam.
Twenty three, two of which are offered to 9th graders, across four course levels: AP, Honors, Accelerated, and College Prep. The school profile is hosted on a platform that could not be read for this page, so grading, GPA, and rank policy should be confirmed with the counseling office. DESE reports 981 students in grades 7 to 12 and 190 seniors.
No. The profile states that Nobles does not weight or publish GPAs or rank students. Most AP courses open in junior and senior year and for most students the maximum is five. Across the Classes of 2021 to 2025 Nobles placed 40 graduates at Harvard, 23 each at Yale, Williams, and Chicago, 21 at Dartmouth, 20 at Brown, and 18 at Princeton.
The 2026-2027 profile states that end of year grades receive one additional point of weight for AP courses and one half point for Honors courses, that individual grades are not weighted, and that students are not ranked. The school offers 20 AP and 42 Honors courses, typically from junior year, and its 2024-25 profile required administrative approval to enroll in three or more AP courses.
No. Oriel Admissions is based in Princeton with a New York presence and advises families nationwide, in person where practical and remotely otherwise. This page exists because the Westwood schools use grading and reporting conventions that change how a plan should be built, not because the service is regional.
Sources: Westwood High School Program of Studies 2026-2027, Westwood High School Counseling, Massachusetts DESE, Westwood High School, Massachusetts DESE SAT report, Westwood High School, Xaverian Brothers Academic Program, Xaverian Brothers Counseling, Xaverian Brothers Graduation Requirements and College Acceptances, Massachusetts DESE, Xaverian Brothers, Noble and Greenough College Profile 2025-2026, Dexter Southfield School Profile 2026-2027, Dexter Southfield School Profile 2024-2025, St. Sebastian’s School Profile 2026-27, St. Sebastian’s School Matriculation.
About Oriel Admissions
Oriel Admissions is a Princeton-based college admissions consulting firm advising families nationwide on elite university admissions strategy. Our team brings deep expertise across every dimension of the application, and our distinctive 360 approach develops strategy, positioning, activities, essays, and interviews as one coherent whole. To discuss your family’s admissions strategy, schedule a consultation.







