Skip to content
Back

Need-Blind vs Need-Aware Admissions: School-by-School Policies for Fall 2027

By Rona Aydin

Washington Square Arch at NYU
TL;DR: Need-blind admission means a college decides without regard to whether an applicant can pay; need-aware means ability to pay can be one factor in the decision. For U.S. applicants, all eight Ivies (Penn for citizens and permanent residents of the U.S., Canada and Mexico), plus MIT, Stanford, Duke, Johns Hopkins, Caltech, Rice, Vanderbilt, Notre Dame, WashU, Boston College, Amherst, Bowdoin and Washington and Lee, state on their own pages that admission is need-blind or made without regard to ability to pay. Northwestern says aid need is not considered “for the vast majority” of applicants, Georgetown says applying for aid does not hurt the chance of admission, and the Emory, Carnegie Mellon and UChicago pages we read use neither term. For international applicants the list is shorter: Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Dartmouth, Brown (from the Class of 2029, which entered in fall 2025), MIT, Notre Dame, Amherst and Bowdoin, while Stanford, Columbia, Penn, Cornell, Northwestern, Johns Hopkins, Caltech and Rice describe need-aware review. Release from Early Decision when aid falls short is set by college policy and NACAC guidance. To build a list around these policies, schedule a consultation with Oriel Admissions.

What do need-blind and need-aware actually mean?

Johns Hopkins puts it plainly: “Need-blind means a student’s ability to pay is not a factor the admissions committee considers”, and for international citizens, being need-aware “means financial circumstances are considered in the admissions process” (Johns Hopkins financial aid questions). Cornell describes need-aware review for international students as one in which “interest in or need for financial aid is one factor amongst many considered when making admission decisions” (Cornell first-year applicants). Stanford says that for international citizens who apply for aid, the request “will be a factor in our admission evaluation, making the process more selective” (Stanford international applicants).

Need-blind admission and meeting full need are separate promises. MIT says it is “one of the very few institutions in the United States that are need blind and full need” (MIT), and Notre Dame says it is “one of only 10 U.S. colleges and universities that is need-blind” and meets full need for all undergraduates (Notre Dame). A college can be need-blind and still leave a gap, or meet full need while reading applications with need in view. In our view, families should check both answers for every school on the list.

Which top colleges are need-blind, and for whom?

CollegeU.S. applicantsInternational applicants
Harvard“Your financial need and your aid application will never affect your chance of being admitted”Same admissions and aid process for all applicants
YaleNeed-blindNeed-blind, “for any student, anywhere in the world”
Princeton“Princeton admission is need-blind”Need-blind; full need met for admitted international students
Columbia“need-blind for US citizens, eligible non-citizens and undocumented students”“a more need-aware process”
Penn“Penn is a need-blind institution for citizens and permanent residents of the United States, Canada, and Mexico.”Need-aware for applicants who are not citizens or permanent residents of the U.S., Canada or Mexico
DartmouthNeed-blind“for all applicants, regardless of citizenship”
Brown“All first-year applicants will be admitted to Brown on a need-blind basis.”Need-blind “beginning with the Class of 2029”
CornellNeed-blindNeed-aware
MITNeed-blindNeed-blind (“domestic and international”)
StanfordNeed-blind for U.S. citizens, permanent residents, undocumented students and Eligible NoncitizensAn aid request “will be a factor”
DukeU.S. citizens and permanent residents admitted “without regard to financial circumstance or aid eligibility”A limited number admitted the same way; aid applicants form “a separate admission pool”
Northwestern“For the vast majority of our applicants,” aid need is not considered“We are need-aware for international students”
Johns Hopkins“Hopkins is need-blind for domestic applicants”“Hopkins is need-aware for international citizens”
CaltechNeed-blind for domestic students, including undocumented and DACA students from U.S. high schoolsNeed-aware
Rice“Rice offers need-blind admission to domestic students.”The amount of aid a family might need “is taken into consideration”
VanderbiltNeed-blind for U.S. citizens and eligible non-citizensNot stated on the page we read
Notre DameNeed-blindNeed-blind (“domestic and international”)
WashUNeed-blind for first-year applicants who are U.S. citizens or permanent residentsNot covered by the need-blind policy; 100% of need met for those admitted
Boston College“Boston College has a need-blind admissions policy”Not stated; BC describes need-based aid for U.S. citizens and permanent residents
GeorgetownNeither term used; applying for aid “does not negatively impact a student’s chance of admission”A limited number of need-based scholarships for admitted students; the page does not limit its statement on admission chances to U.S. applicants
EmoryNeither term used on the pages we readNeed-based aid for “a select group of international students”
Carnegie MellonNeither term used on the pages we readThe admission page says it does not offer financial aid to international students
AmherstNeed-blindNeed-blind (“domestic, international and undocumented”)
BowdoinNeed-blindNeed-blind, “including international students”
Washington and Lee“W&L admits students without considering their ability to pay.”Eligible to apply for need-based aid; need-blind status for international applicants not stated
UChicagoNeither term used on the pages we readMust apply for aid during admission; 100% of need met if admitted
Sources: Harvard, Harvard international, Yale, Princeton, Columbia, Penn Admissions, Penn international, Dartmouth, Brown, Brown international, Cornell, MIT, Stanford, Duke aid policy, Duke admissions, Northwestern, Northwestern international, Johns Hopkins, Caltech, Rice, Rice international, Vanderbilt, Notre Dame, WashU, Boston College FAQ, BC how aid works, Georgetown, Emory, Carnegie Mellon, CMU international, Amherst, Bowdoin, Washington and Lee, UChicago international. First-year applicants. We could not verify Tufts, NYU or Williams on their official pages for this update.

Several entries differ from lists published elsewhere. WashU states that its “need-blind admission policy applies to all first-year applicants for undergraduate admission who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents” (WashU need-blind policy), and Boston College states a need-blind policy in its aid FAQ, so neither belongs on a need-aware list for U.S. applicants. Emory and Carnegie Mellon do not use either term on the pages we read, so we do not label them. Penn states need-blind admission for citizens and permanent residents of the United States, Canada and Mexico, and need-aware review for other international applicants (Penn Admissions). Washington and Lee says it “admits students without considering their ability to pay” (Washington and Lee), so we list it with the need-blind colleges for U.S. applicants. Our school pages for MIT, Vanderbilt, Notre Dame, WashU, Boston College, Emory, Carnegie Mellon and Georgetown cover admissions at each.

Which of these colleges say they meet full demonstrated need?

  • All admitted students, including international: MIT (“meeting 100% of demonstrated financial need”), Johns Hopkins (“including international students”), Notre Dame, Northwestern (“all admitted first-year students”), Rice (international students who receive need-based aid “will have 100% of demonstrated need met”), UChicago (“committed to meeting 100%” of demonstrated need for international students who applied for aid) and Cornell (“100 percent of admitted undergraduate students’ demonstrated financial need”, with its affordability initiatives open “regardless of state residency or citizenship status”).
  • Domestic or eligible students: Emory (“first-degree undergraduate students”), Carnegie Mellon (“for domestic students”), Georgetown (“all US Citizens and Permanent Residents”), Boston College (“your full demonstrated institutional financial need”), Duke and Vanderbilt.
  • Other statements: WashU says it meets “100% of demonstrated need” even for the international, transfer and waitlist admits outside its need-blind policy; Bowdoin describes “need-blind admissions that meets every admitted student’s full calculated need”; Washington and Lee meets “the full demonstrated financial need of every admitted applicant”; Tufts says “We meet 100% of need” for admitted undergraduates who complete an aid application by the deadline; and Duke says it expects each year to enroll “20 to 25 international students whose full demonstrated need has been met”.

Sources: MIT, Johns Hopkins, Notre Dame, Northwestern, Rice, UChicago, Emory, Carnegie Mellon, Georgetown, Boston College, Duke, Duke aid policy, Vanderbilt, Cornell and Cornell affordability, WashU, Bowdoin, Washington and Lee and Tufts. Each college defines need with its own formula, so meeting full need at two schools can still produce two different prices; our guide to aid for upper-middle-class families compares the published income thresholds.

Do need-blind policies cover the waitlist and transfer applicants?

Not always, and the exceptions are written down. Bowdoin, which is need-blind for first-year applicants, says “Waitlisted and transfer students may be admitted under a need-aware policy” (Bowdoin FAQ). WashU says its need-blind policy does not include “international applicants, transfer students, and students admitted from our wait list, although we meet 100% of demonstrated need for these students” (WashU). Brown says it “will continue to consider transfer students’ financial need when making admission decisions” (Brown). We could not confirm on the Ivies’ own pages the claim, repeated in some lists, that several Ivies become need-aware on the waitlist, so we do not list any Ivy that way. In our view, a waitlisted student who needs aid should keep the aid application active and ask the aid office directly how waitlist offers are funded. Our Ivy League waitlist comparison and letter of continued interest guide cover the rest of the waitlist process.

Does being able to pay full price help at a need-aware college?

The colleges that describe need-aware review present need as one factor, and none of the pages we read says how much weight it receives. Caltech explains that it is need-aware for international students “because the total amount of financial aid funds for international students is limited” (Caltech), and Rice says that for international applicants “the amount of financial aid a family might need is taken into consideration” (Rice).

In our view, ability to pay matters most for applicants near the line at a need-aware school, and it cannot make up for a weak application. We do not advise families who need aid to skip the aid application to improve their odds. Stanford says that international citizens who indicate they will not apply for aid and are then admitted “are not eligible to apply for financial aid at any time during their four years at Stanford” (Stanford), and UChicago says international students who do not apply for need-based aid during the admissions process “are not able to apply in later years” (UChicago FAQ). If a family can pay and chooses not to apply for aid, that choice should be accurate and final.

Can a student who needs aid apply Early Decision?

Yes, and the release terms come from each college and from professional guidance. NACAC’s Guide to Ethical Practice in College Admission asks colleges to release Early Decision applicants who are not offered a financial aid award that makes attendance possible. Individual colleges state their own versions. Cornell says students “may be eligible to be released from the early decision agreement if their financial aid award does not make a Cornell education affordable for applicants and their families”, a provision that “applies only to students who have applied for financial aid” (Cornell ED FAQ). The Common App ED agreement adds that “the student need not withdraw other applications until the student has received notification about financial aid from the admitting early decision institution” (2026 ED agreement). In our experience, the safest step is to run the net price calculator and file aid forms by the ED aid deadline before signing.

How should aid policy shape a college list?

The view of Oriel Admissions is that aid policy is one input among several, alongside fit and admission odds. For a family that needs substantial aid, we weight the list toward colleges that are need-blind for that student and meet full need, and we read each policy for the student’s own citizenship and application type, since the same school can be need-blind for one group and need-aware for another. For a family that can pay, the policy matters less than merit options and fit. International families should read our need-blind guide for international students, and families comparing costs at the Ivies can use our Ivy League cost guide. For how intended major affects admission odds, see our acceptance rates by major analysis.

Frequently Asked Questions About Need-Blind and Need-Aware Admissions

What is the difference between need-blind and need-aware admission?

At a need-blind college, ability to pay is not considered in the admission decision. At a need-aware college, financial need can be one factor, as Cornell, Johns Hopkins and Stanford describe for international applicants.

Are all Ivy League schools need-blind?

For U.S. applicants, yes: all eight state need-blind admission on their own pages, and Penn extends it to citizens and permanent residents of Canada and Mexico. For international applicants, Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Dartmouth and Brown state need-blind admission or the same process, Cornell and Penn describe need-aware review, and Columbia reviews international aid applicants in a more need-aware process.

Is WashU need-blind?

Yes, for first-year applicants who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents. WashU says its need-blind policy does not cover international, transfer or waitlist admits, although it meets full need for them.

Are Emory and Carnegie Mellon need-blind?

Neither uses the term on the pages we read, so we do not label them. Emory says it meets 100% of financial need for first-degree undergraduate students, and Carnegie Mellon says it meets 100% of demonstrated need for domestic students.

Which colleges are need-blind for international students?

On their own pages, Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Dartmouth, Brown from the Class of 2029, MIT, Notre Dame, Amherst and Bowdoin state need-blind admission or the same process for international applicants. Check each page again before applying, since policies change.

Does applying for financial aid hurt at a need-blind college?

Not for the first-year applicants each policy covers. Bowdoin and WashU say waitlist and transfer admits work differently, and the WashU policy does not cover international applicants.

Can a student be released from Early Decision if the aid offer is not enough?

Many colleges release students in that case, under their own policy and NACAC guidance. Cornell, for example, says students may be released when the aid award does not make attendance affordable.

How does Oriel Admissions help families use need-blind and need-aware policies?

Oriel Admissions reads each policy for the citizenship and plans of the student, runs aid estimates with the family, and builds a list that balances fit, admission odds and cost.

Sources: Harvard College, How Aid Works, Harvard College, International Applicants, Yale Admissions, Affordability, Princeton Admission, International Students, Columbia Undergraduate Admissions, Affordability, Penn Admissions, Financial Aid, Penn, International Financial Aid, Dartmouth Admissions, Need-Blind, Brown Admission, Financial Aid, Brown Admission, International Financial Aid, Cornell Admissions, First-Year Applicants, Cornell Financial Aid, Affordability, Cornell Enrollment FAQ, Early Decision, MIT Student Financial Services, Making MIT Affordable, Stanford Admission, International Applicants, Duke Financial Aid, Awarding and Policy, Duke Admissions, Financial Support, Duke Financial Aid, Northwestern Admissions, Admission Decisions FAQ, Northwestern Admissions, International Applicants, Johns Hopkins Admissions, Common Financial Aid Questions, Caltech Admissions, Afford, Rice Admission, First-Year Domestic Applicants, Rice Financial Aid, International Students, Vanderbilt Student Financial Aid, Notre Dame Admissions, FAQs, Notre Dame Admissions, Aid and Affordability, WashU Financial Aid, Need-Blind Policy, Boston College Financial Aid, FAQs, Boston College Financial Aid, How Aid Works, Georgetown Undergraduate Admissions, Financial Aid, Emory Student Financial Services, Undergraduate, Emory Student Financial Services, International Students, Carnegie Mellon Admission, Costs and Aid, Carnegie Mellon Admission, International Applicants, Amherst College, Financial Aid FAQ, Bowdoin Student Aid, Bowdoin Student Aid, FAQs, Washington and Lee, Financial Aid, UChicago Admissions, International Financial Aid, UChicago Admissions, Financial Support FAQ, Tufts Student Financial Services, Financial Aid, NACAC, Guide to Ethical Practice in College Admission, Common App 2026 Early Decision Agreement. All read October 26 and 27, 2026.


About Oriel Admissions

Oriel Admissions is a college admissions consulting firm advising families nationwide on elite university admissions strategy, with offices in Princeton, New Jersey and New York. Our team pairs deep admissions expertise with a distinctive 360 approach spanning academic planning, extracurricular strategy, essays and application execution. To discuss your strategy, schedule a consultation.


Latest Posts

Show all

Sign up for our newsletter