How to Get Into Purdue for Engineering: 37.9% Admit Rate, First-Year Engineering and Deadlines
By Rona Aydin

What is the Purdue engineering acceptance rate?
Purdue’s class profile lists a 37.9% admit rate for the College of Engineering, with middle 50% ranges of 1390 to 1520 on the SAT, 33 to 35 on the ACT and 3.87 to 4.00 for high school GPA. These tables, like the page’s overall admit rate of 53.3%, carry no year label; they sit below the fall 2026 applicant figures, which show 82,160 applications (Purdue Admissions, class profile). The page does not give the counts behind these rates or say whether they cover West Lafayette only.
| Group on the class profile | Admit rate | SAT middle 50% | ACT middle 50% |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Engineering | 37.9% | 1390 to 1520 | 33 to 35 |
| Computer Science (College of Science) | 63.4% | 1420 to 1530 | 33 to 35 |
| College of Science | 65% | 1340 to 1500 | 30 to 35 |
| University overall | 53.3% | 1230 to 1480 | 29 to 34 |
Residency matters at Purdue. For fall 2026, Purdue “admitted 75% of all undergraduate applicants who live in Indiana” and “less than 50% of all non-Indiana residents,” and the class reached 10,818 first-year students, 10,173 of them in West Lafayette (Purdue News, September 14, 2026).
The Common Data Set gives earlier years. Purdue notes that its Common Data Sets from 2024-25 onward cover West Lafayette and Purdue in Indianapolis, while earlier years covered West Lafayette only (Purdue Common Data Set index), so the trend below is not strictly like for like.
| Entering class | Applied | Admitted | Acceptance rate | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fall 2025 | 87,220 | 37,881 | 43.4% | Common Data Set 2025-2026 |
| Fall 2024 | 78,745 | 39,272 | 49.9% | Common Data Set 2024-2025 |
| Fall 2023 | 72,800 | 36,602 | 50.3% | Common Data Set 2023-2024 |
| Fall 2022 | 68,309 | 35,995 | 52.7% | Common Data Set 2022-2023 |
By residency, the Common Data Set 2025-2026 shows 8,559 of 12,040 Indiana applicants admitted for fall 2025 (71.1%), 25,650 of 58,853 out-of-state applicants (43.6%) and 3,672 of 16,327 international applicants (22.5%), by our calculation. Our Purdue acceptance rate analysis and our guide to the Purdue out-of-state acceptance rate cover these numbers in more detail.
How does First-Year Engineering work at Purdue?
Purdue describes its “first-year engineering program” as “the entry point for all incoming engineering students at our West Lafayette location.” Students complete a common first-year curriculum in math, chemistry, physics, programming and communication “before transitioning during their sophomore year to a specialty major” (Purdue Admissions, First-Year Engineering).
The College of Engineering explains that incoming students are admitted to First-Year Engineering “rather than to one of the 17 engineering degree programs,” and move into a degree program through the Transition to Major (T2M) process. It adds that “Admission to the College of Engineering degree programs may be competitive, especially for programs that are at or above enrollment capacity,” and that “Competitive admission is based on GPA, Engineering Admissions Index (EAI) and other factors.” Purdue reports that “Over the past five years, 93-95% of students who have met minimum requirements for transition-to-major have received their first choice” (Purdue College of Engineering, Transition to Major).
The college’s enrollment policy, approved October 8, 2026, sets two routes. A guaranteed first-choice route, available in May only, requires a minimum grade record: “Eligible students must earn at least a 3.20 EAI and a 3.20 cumulative GPA in West Lafayette. Beginning in Fall 2027, eligible students must earn at least a 3.30 EAI and a 3.30 cumulative GPA in West Lafayette.” Other conditions include taking the core first-semester engineering courses and “No repeated graded courses in the FYE curriculum.” Under the competitive route, students who complete the first-year requirements “are guaranteed entrance into their professional degree program of choice as long as space is available,” and “If demand exceeds capacity, students will be individually and holistically reviewed and admitted up to the capacity of the professional school/major” (Purdue College of Engineering, enrollment policy).
In our view, an incoming student should confirm with the college which grade threshold applies to their entering class, and should treat the first two semesters of engineering coursework as part of the admissions process for the chosen major.
Computer science works differently: it sits in the College of Science and is listed as its own major (Purdue Admissions, computer science), so a computer science applicant applies to that major rather than to First-Year Engineering. At West Lafayette, computer engineering is one of the engineering degree programs reached through First-Year Engineering, while for Purdue in Indianapolis the deadlines page lists computer engineering and several other engineering majors by name among its competitive majors (Purdue Admissions, deadlines).
When are the Purdue deadlines for fall 2027?
| Plan or deadline | Date | Decision released |
|---|---|---|
| Early Action | November 1, 2026 | January 15, 2027 |
| Priority deadline for First-Year Engineering, computer science and other competitive majors | November 1, 2026 | Not stated separately |
| Merit scholarships and John Martinson Honors College | November 1, 2026 | Not stated |
| Regular Decision | January 15, 2027 | By March 31, 2027 |
Purdue says the first-year application opens August 1 and closes January 15, asks students to submit a complete application by the November 1 Early Action deadline if possible, and warns that “Admission will be much more competitive if you apply later.” For its competitive majors, “Priority application deadline means that we will continue accepting applications after Nov. 1 only if space allows” (Purdue Admissions, deadlines). The First-Year Engineering page adds that applications received after November 1 “for this competitive major will be evaluated based on available space” (Purdue Admissions, First-Year Engineering).
Purdue offers Early Action and Regular Decision, and its Common Data Set 2025-2026 reports no Early Decision plan. Purdue tells counselors that applying earlier or later within the August 1 to November 1 window brings no advantage, and that “Everyone who applies by the Early Action deadline gets equal consideration.” Early Action applicants can also be deferred to the March decision date (Purdue Admissions, counselor page). Our list of colleges with Early Action compares early plans.
Does Purdue require the SAT or ACT for engineering?
Purdue describes itself as test expected (Purdue Admissions, counselor page). Its application guide states: “Purdue expects applicants to have SAT, ACT or CLT scores.” It allows an application without a score only in exceptional cases, and reports: “In 2026, 90% of applicants submitted a test score; 98.3% of admitted students provided a test score.” For a given test, applicants “may use your highest scores in each section from different testing dates” (Purdue Admissions, Guide to Applying). Scores must be from within the past five years (Purdue Admissions, first-year criteria).
In the Common Data Set 2025-2026, which describes the fall 2025 entering class, 83.8% of enrolled students submitted the SAT, with a middle 50% range of 1220 to 1470 (median 1360), and 22.6% submitted the ACT, with a range of 28 to 34 (Purdue Common Data Set 2025-2026). On the class profile, the College of Engineering range of 1390 to 1520 sits above the overall range of 1230 to 1480. In our view, an engineering applicant should plan to submit a score and to test more than once if the first result falls below that range.
What does Purdue look for in engineering applicants?
In its Common Data Set 2025-2026, Purdue rates the rigor of the secondary school record, academic GPA and the application essay as very important; standardized test scores, recommendations, extracurricular activities, character and first-generation status as important; and class rank, talent, geographic and state residency, volunteer work, work experience and the level of applicant interest as considered. The interview, alumni relation and religious affiliation are not considered (Purdue Common Data Set 2025-2026).
Purdue’s criteria page adds factors specific to the major, including “Grades related to intended major,” “Ability to be successful in intended major,” “Time of year you apply” and “Space availability in the desired program.” It states: “Engineering applicants: Chemistry experience is expected” (Purdue Admissions, first-year criteria). The First-Year Engineering page lists “Calculus (if available at high school)” and four years of laboratory science including “Chemistry (expected)” (Purdue Admissions, First-Year Engineering). The guide says Purdue reviews each application with two questions in mind, including “Are you academically prepared to succeed in your desired major or program?” (Purdue Admissions, Guide to Applying).
Purdue states that “Purdue University admission decisions are made using a holistic review process” and that “Courses taken, grades earned and test scores are the most important factors in our process, but not all we consider.” It adds that the middle 50% GPA it reports, recalculated on an unweighted 4.00 scale, is used for reporting rather than as a factor in the review (Purdue Admissions, class profile). In our experience, the strongest engineering applicants show calculus, chemistry and physics taken at the most demanding level their school offers, along with a concrete account of the engineering work they want to do. Our guide to the best colleges for engineering compares Purdue with other programs.
What essays does Purdue require?
Applicants submit the Common Application personal essay of 250 to 650 words and two required Purdue questions of 250 words or fewer: “How will opportunities at Purdue support your interests, both in and out of the classroom?” and a question asking applicants to “Briefly discuss your reasons for choosing your major and your interest in studying at this campus location (Indianapolis or West Lafayette).” Applicants who select an alternate major answer a third question about it. The John Martinson Honors College asks for four further responses of 200 words or fewer (Purdue Admissions, Guide to Applying). Purdue tells counselors that letters of recommendation are not required but will be included in the review if submitted (Purdue Admissions, counselor page).
In our view, the major question carries particular weight for engineering applicants, because Purdue asks whether a student is prepared for the chosen program; the answer should connect specific coursework and projects to First-Year Engineering and to the degree program the student hopes to enter.
How do merit scholarships and financial aid work at Purdue?
Purdue states that “All university merit-based scholarships have a firm deadline of Nov. 1.” Its Trustees Scholarship pays “$16,000 per year (nonresidents)” and “$10,000 per year (Indiana residents).” Purdue adds that “Each year about 15% of applicants receive a merit award,” and that it “does not match offers from other institutions and does not consider appeals for merit aid.” Purdue also says that “in general, international undergraduate students are not eligible for financial aid, including scholarships” (Purdue Admissions, scholarships).
For Indiana residents, the Boiler Gold Grant can cover tuition, fees and books remaining after other gift aid for full-time students pursuing a first bachelor’s degree who have demonstrated need and are Pell eligible or have a family adjusted gross income of $80,000 or less on the FAFSA; it does not cover housing and dining (Purdue Division of Financial Aid, Boiler Gold Grant). Purdue also reports that its main campus “has frozen tuition 14 years in a row” (Purdue News, September 14, 2026).
What does the Purdue engineering acceptance rate mean for applicants?
In the view of Oriel Admissions, Purdue engineering is a realistic but competitive target for strong math and science students, and the November 1 priority deadline is the single most important date in the application, because later engineering applications are read only if space allows. Families weighing similar programs can read our guides to getting into UIUC for engineering and getting into Michigan for engineering, and our list of engineering summer programs for high school students.
Frequently Asked Questions About Getting Into Purdue for Engineering
Purdue lists a 37.9% admit rate for its College of Engineering on its current class profile, against 53.3% for the university overall. The page gives no year or counts for either rate.
Not at West Lafayette. Engineering applicants there are admitted to First-Year Engineering and move into one of 17 engineering degree programs through the Transition to Major process, which considers grades and the Engineering Admissions Index. For Purdue in Indianapolis, Purdue lists engineering majors such as computer and mechanical engineering by name among its competitive majors.
Purdue reports that over the past five years, 93 to 95% of students who met the minimum requirements for Transition to Major received their first choice.
No. Purdue is test expected and expects SAT, ACT or CLT scores, allowing an application without a score only in exceptional cases. In 2026, 98.3% of admitted students provided a test score.
November 1, 2026 is the priority deadline for First-Year Engineering and the Early Action deadline for fall 2027 entry. Purdue accepts engineering applications after that date only if space allows. In the view of Oriel Admissions, engineering applicants should plan to apply by November 1.
No. Purdue offers non-binding Early Action, due November 1, and Regular Decision, due January 15. Early Action decisions are released January 15.
No. Computer science is a major in the College of Science, and applicants apply to it directly. At West Lafayette, computer engineering is an engineering degree program reached through First-Year Engineering.
Purdue says students whose application is complete by the November 1 Early Action deadline are automatically considered for university-wide merit scholarships, and it calls November 1 a firm deadline for merit awards.
Sources: Purdue Admissions, class profile, Purdue News, September 14, 2026, Purdue Admissions, first-year deadlines, Purdue Admissions, Guide to Applying, Purdue Admissions, counselor page, Purdue Admissions, first-year criteria, Purdue Admissions, First-Year Engineering, Purdue College of Engineering, Transition to Major, Purdue College of Engineering, enrollment policy, Purdue Admissions, computer science, Purdue Admissions, scholarships, Purdue Division of Financial Aid, Boiler Gold Grant, Purdue Common Data Set index and files, 2022-2023 to 2025-2026. All read October 26, 2026.
About Oriel Admissions
Oriel Admissions is a college admissions consulting firm advising families nationwide on elite university admissions strategy, with offices in Princeton, New Jersey and New York. Our team pairs deep admissions expertise with a distinctive 360 approach spanning academic planning, extracurricular strategy, essays and application execution. To discuss your strategy, schedule a consultation.







