Skip to content
Back

Princeton GPA Requirements: GPA Bands, Testing and Early Action Deadlines

By Rona Aydin

Princeton
TL;DR: Princeton sets no minimum GPA: its FAQ says no minimum grade point average, class rank or test score is required and that it considers these measures “only within the context of each applicant’s school and situation.” In Princeton’s Common Data Set for 2025-26, 72% of first-years who entered in fall 2025 had a 4.0 and 96% had 3.75 or higher; the reported average was 3.96. Princeton admitted 4.1% of applicants to the Class of 2030, by our calculation. It is test optional for fall 2027 entry and will require the SAT or ACT from fall 2028, and its single-choice early action deadline is November 1, 2026. To plan a Princeton application, schedule a consultation with Oriel Admissions.

Does Princeton have a minimum GPA?

No. Princeton’s admission FAQ asks, “Are minimum grade-point averages, class ranks, or test scores required for admission?” and answers: “No. We consider all of these measures, but only within the context of each applicant’s school and situation. In general, our most promising candidates tend to earn high grades and have comparatively high scores on standardized tests” (Princeton admission FAQs).

What GPAs do Princeton students have?

Princeton is one of five colleges in our comparison table below that fill in the GPA items of their Common Data Set (CDS), a standardized report many colleges publish each year. Item C11 gives the share of enrolled first-years in each GPA band, and Princeton splits it by whether students submitted test scores (Princeton CDS 2025-2026).

High school GPA (CDS item C11)All enrolled first-yearsSubmitted test scoresDid not submit test scores
4.072%76%51%
3.75 to 3.9924%21%36%
3.50 to 3.743%2%9%
3.25 to 3.491%1%4%
Average GPA (item C12)3.96Not splitNot split
Source: Princeton Common Data Set 2025-2026, items C11 and C12, for first-time, first-year students who entered in fall 2025 (the Class of 2029). 99% of the class submitted a high school GPA. Princeton does not say whether the bands use weighted or unweighted GPAs.

Two points stand out. First, 96% of enrolled students reported a 3.75 or higher. Second, students who did not submit test scores reported lower GPAs as a group: 51% of them had a 4.0, against 76% of score submitters, and 13% were below 3.75, against 3%, by our calculation. These figures describe enrolled students only, so they do not show how GPA or testing affected any decision. Princeton does not report class rank (item C10 is marked not applicable).

How does Princeton read a GPA?

In context. The FAQ quoted above says Princeton weighs grades and scores “only within the context of each applicant’s school and situation.” In our experience, that context comes mainly from the school report, the counselor letter and the school profile, which describe the grading scale, the courses on offer and how a school weights them. Princeton also asks every applicant for a graded written paper, due with the application on November 1 for single-choice early action and January 1 for regular decision (Princeton application dates and deadlines). In our view, that paper gives readers a direct look at the classroom work behind the grades.

Which high school courses does Princeton recommend?

Princeton says its recommended course of study “is not a list of admission requirements,” and that it gives full consideration to students who do not have access to all of these courses. If possible, it expects students to complete (Princeton, before you apply):

  • English: four years, including continued practice in writing.
  • Mathematics: four years, including calculus for students interested in engineering.
  • One language: four years.
  • Laboratory science: at least two years, including physics and chemistry for students interested in engineering.
  • History: at least two years.

Princeton adds that most candidates have had some study in the visual or performing arts, and it encourages students to take “the most rigorous courses possible, such as honors, Advanced Placement (AP) and dual-enrollment courses.” Our guide to how many AP classes Princeton applicants take covers course rigor in more detail.

What test scores do Princeton students have, and is testing required for fall 2027?

Not for fall 2027. Princeton remains test optional for students who enter in fall 2027 and will require the SAT or ACT from applicants who seek to enroll in fall 2028 (Princeton standardized testing; Princeton application checklist). For the class that entered in fall 2025, 60% of enrolled first-years submitted the SAT and 20% the ACT.

Test (fall 2025 entering class)25th percentileMedian75th percentile
SAT total149015301560
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing740760780
SAT Math760790800
ACT composite343535
Source: Princeton CDS 2025-2026, item C9, for enrolled students who submitted scores.

How does Princeton compare with other highly selective colleges?

CollegeAverage GPA reported (C12)Share at 4.0 (C11)Top tenth of class (C10)Class of 2029 (fall 2025) admit rateClass of 2030 (fall 2026) admit rate
Harvard4.2274.7%95%4.2%3.7%
YaleNot reportedNot reported97%4.7%4.4%
Princeton3.9672%Not reported4.4%4.1%
Columbia4.2574.9%94%4.9%4.2%
Penn3.959%92%4.9%Not published
BrownNot collectedNot collected93%6.3%5.6%
DartmouthNot reportedNot reported96%6.0%5.8%
CornellNot reportedNot reported84%8.4%9.2%
MITNot reportedNot reported97%4.6%Not yet posted
Stanford3.9473.0%97%3.8%Not published
Sources: each college’s Common Data Set (CDS) 2025-2026, items C1, C10, C11 and C12, for first-year students who entered in fall 2025 (the Class of 2029); Cornell’s fall 2025 rate (6,077 of 72,523) is from its University Factbook. Class of 2030 rates come from each college’s latest release: Harvard admissions statistics, the Yale College Class Profile, Fall 2026 (rate as Yale states it), the Princeton profile (as of August 18, 2026), the Columbia Class of 2030 Profile (as of August 22, 2026), Brown admission numbers (rate as Brown states it), Dartmouth News, March 30, 2026 and the Cornell factbook. Brown’s two rates use different applicant counts (42,774 in its CDS and 47,944 on its admission numbers page), so they are not directly comparable. Penn and Stanford have not posted Class of 2030 admit counts, and MIT’s statistics page still showed the Class of 2029 on October 27, 2026. Other rates are by our calculation. Harvard says its admit count includes students admitted from the waiting list (103 for the Class of 2030), and CDS admit counts can include them too, while Dartmouth’s rate comes from its March announcement. The averages are not on a common scale: Columbia’s C11 and C12 cover the 72.2% of enrolled students whose GPA was recorded on a 4.0 scale, and averages above 4.0 suggest that some weighted values are included. Brown says it does not collect GPA. Class rank covers only students whose schools rank: about 12% of the class at Cornell, 23% to 31% at Penn, Stanford, Harvard, Columbia, Brown, Yale and MIT, and 44% at Dartmouth.

Princeton, Harvard, Columbia, Penn and Stanford are the colleges in this table that publish GPA bands, and each reports that at least 59% of its enrolled first-years with a GPA had a 4.0. Princeton’s 3.96 average is below the Harvard and Columbia averages, which are above 4.0; in our view, that difference says more about how each college records GPAs than about the students. Our guide to Harvard GPA requirements shows the Harvard bands in full.

Can you get into Princeton with a GPA below 3.75?

It happens, but rarely. In fall 2025, 4% of enrolled first-years who reported a GPA were below 3.75: 3% between 3.50 and 3.74 and 1% between 3.25 and 3.49. The view of Oriel Admissions is that a student in that range should treat Princeton as a reach, make sure the counselor letter and school profile explain the record, and consider whether strong test scores would add useful evidence, since Princeton is test optional for one more year. Our guide on whether a 3.7 GPA is good enough for the Ivy League compares the bands across colleges.

Should a student apply early to Princeton?

Princeton offers single-choice early action, which is nonbinding: admitted students have until May 1 to decide. Applications are due November 1 with decisions in mid-December, and regular decision applications are due January 1 with decisions in late March (Princeton application dates and deadlines); for fall 2027 entry, that is November 1, 2026 and January 1, 2027. A student who applies early to Princeton “may not apply to an early program at any other private college or university within the United States,” with exceptions Princeton lists for nonbinding early programs at public institutions, service academies and international institutions, and for nonbinding rolling admission. In our view, applying early makes sense when Princeton is a clear first choice and the application, including the graded paper, is ready. Our guide to the Princeton early action acceptance rate covers the history.

Frequently Asked Questions About Princeton GPA Requirements

What is the minimum GPA for Princeton?

Princeton has no minimum GPA. Its admission FAQ says minimum grade point averages, class ranks and test scores are not required, and that it considers them within the context of each school and situation.

What is the average GPA at Princeton?

The Princeton Common Data Set for 2025-26 reports an average high school GPA of 3.96 for first-years who entered in fall 2025, with 99% of the class reporting a GPA.

What share of Princeton students have a 4.0?

In fall 2025, 72% of enrolled first-years who reported a GPA had a 4.0, and 96% had 3.75 or higher.

Can you get into Princeton with a 3.7 GPA?

It is uncommon. In fall 2025, 3% of enrolled first-years who reported a GPA were between 3.50 and 3.74, and 1% were between 3.25 and 3.49.

Is Princeton test optional for fall 2027?

Yes. Princeton is test optional for students entering in fall 2027 and will require the SAT or ACT from applicants seeking to enroll in fall 2028.

What high school courses does Princeton recommend?

Princeton recommends four years of English, mathematics and one language, at least two years of laboratory science and at least two years of history, and says this is not a list of requirements.

When is the Princeton early deadline for fall 2027?

Single-choice early action applications are due November 1, 2026, with decisions in mid-December. Regular decision applications are due January 1, 2027.

How does Oriel Admissions suggest reading the Princeton GPA data?

Oriel Admissions suggests reading the bands as a profile of the enrolled class rather than a cutoff, and treating Princeton as one of several reach schools.

Sources: Princeton admission FAQs, Princeton Common Data Set 2025-2026, Princeton, before you apply, Princeton application dates and deadlines, Princeton standardized testing, Princeton application checklist, Princeton profile, admission and costs, Harvard Common Data Set 2025-2026, Harvard admissions statistics, Yale Common Data Set 2025-2026, Yale College Class Profile, Fall 2026, Columbia College and Columbia Engineering CDS 2025-2026, Columbia Class of 2030 Profile, Penn Common Data Set 2025-2026, Brown Common Data Set 2025-2026, Brown admission numbers, Dartmouth Common Data Set 2025-2026, Dartmouth News, March 30, 2026, Cornell Common Data Set 2025-2026, Cornell University Factbook, MIT Common Data Set 2025-2026, MIT admissions statistics, Stanford Common Data Set 2025-2026. All read October 26 and 27, 2026.


About Oriel Admissions

Oriel Admissions is a college admissions consulting firm advising families nationwide on elite university admissions strategy, with offices in Princeton, New Jersey and New York. Our team pairs deep admissions expertise with a distinctive 360 approach spanning academic planning, extracurricular strategy, essays and application execution. To discuss your strategy, schedule a consultation.


Latest Posts

Show all

Sign up for our newsletter