
Does Princeton have a minimum GPA?
No. Princeton’s admission FAQ asks, “Are minimum grade-point averages, class ranks, or test scores required for admission?” and answers: “No. We consider all of these measures, but only within the context of each applicant’s school and situation. In general, our most promising candidates tend to earn high grades and have comparatively high scores on standardized tests” (Princeton admission FAQs).
What GPAs do Princeton students have?
Princeton is one of five colleges in our comparison table below that fill in the GPA items of their Common Data Set (CDS), a standardized report many colleges publish each year. Item C11 gives the share of enrolled first-years in each GPA band, and Princeton splits it by whether students submitted test scores (Princeton CDS 2025-2026).
| High school GPA (CDS item C11) | All enrolled first-years | Submitted test scores | Did not submit test scores |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4.0 | 72% | 76% | 51% |
| 3.75 to 3.99 | 24% | 21% | 36% |
| 3.50 to 3.74 | 3% | 2% | 9% |
| 3.25 to 3.49 | 1% | 1% | 4% |
| Average GPA (item C12) | 3.96 | Not split | Not split |
Two points stand out. First, 96% of enrolled students reported a 3.75 or higher. Second, students who did not submit test scores reported lower GPAs as a group: 51% of them had a 4.0, against 76% of score submitters, and 13% were below 3.75, against 3%, by our calculation. These figures describe enrolled students only, so they do not show how GPA or testing affected any decision. Princeton does not report class rank (item C10 is marked not applicable).
How does Princeton read a GPA?
In context. The FAQ quoted above says Princeton weighs grades and scores “only within the context of each applicant’s school and situation.” In our experience, that context comes mainly from the school report, the counselor letter and the school profile, which describe the grading scale, the courses on offer and how a school weights them. Princeton also asks every applicant for a graded written paper, due with the application on November 1 for single-choice early action and January 1 for regular decision (Princeton application dates and deadlines). In our view, that paper gives readers a direct look at the classroom work behind the grades.
Which high school courses does Princeton recommend?
Princeton says its recommended course of study “is not a list of admission requirements,” and that it gives full consideration to students who do not have access to all of these courses. If possible, it expects students to complete (Princeton, before you apply):
- English: four years, including continued practice in writing.
- Mathematics: four years, including calculus for students interested in engineering.
- One language: four years.
- Laboratory science: at least two years, including physics and chemistry for students interested in engineering.
- History: at least two years.
Princeton adds that most candidates have had some study in the visual or performing arts, and it encourages students to take “the most rigorous courses possible, such as honors, Advanced Placement (AP) and dual-enrollment courses.” Our guide to how many AP classes Princeton applicants take covers course rigor in more detail.
What test scores do Princeton students have, and is testing required for fall 2027?
Not for fall 2027. Princeton remains test optional for students who enter in fall 2027 and will require the SAT or ACT from applicants who seek to enroll in fall 2028 (Princeton standardized testing; Princeton application checklist). For the class that entered in fall 2025, 60% of enrolled first-years submitted the SAT and 20% the ACT.
| Test (fall 2025 entering class) | 25th percentile | Median | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT total | 1490 | 1530 | 1560 |
| SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | 740 | 760 | 780 |
| SAT Math | 760 | 790 | 800 |
| ACT composite | 34 | 35 | 35 |
How does Princeton compare with other highly selective colleges?
| College | Average GPA reported (C12) | Share at 4.0 (C11) | Top tenth of class (C10) | Class of 2029 (fall 2025) admit rate | Class of 2030 (fall 2026) admit rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvard | 4.22 | 74.7% | 95% | 4.2% | 3.7% |
| Yale | Not reported | Not reported | 97% | 4.7% | 4.4% |
| Princeton | 3.96 | 72% | Not reported | 4.4% | 4.1% |
| Columbia | 4.25 | 74.9% | 94% | 4.9% | 4.2% |
| Penn | 3.9 | 59% | 92% | 4.9% | Not published |
| Brown | Not collected | Not collected | 93% | 6.3% | 5.6% |
| Dartmouth | Not reported | Not reported | 96% | 6.0% | 5.8% |
| Cornell | Not reported | Not reported | 84% | 8.4% | 9.2% |
| MIT | Not reported | Not reported | 97% | 4.6% | Not yet posted |
| Stanford | 3.94 | 73.0% | 97% | 3.8% | Not published |
Princeton, Harvard, Columbia, Penn and Stanford are the colleges in this table that publish GPA bands, and each reports that at least 59% of its enrolled first-years with a GPA had a 4.0. Princeton’s 3.96 average is below the Harvard and Columbia averages, which are above 4.0; in our view, that difference says more about how each college records GPAs than about the students. Our guide to Harvard GPA requirements shows the Harvard bands in full.
Can you get into Princeton with a GPA below 3.75?
It happens, but rarely. In fall 2025, 4% of enrolled first-years who reported a GPA were below 3.75: 3% between 3.50 and 3.74 and 1% between 3.25 and 3.49. The view of Oriel Admissions is that a student in that range should treat Princeton as a reach, make sure the counselor letter and school profile explain the record, and consider whether strong test scores would add useful evidence, since Princeton is test optional for one more year. Our guide on whether a 3.7 GPA is good enough for the Ivy League compares the bands across colleges.
Should a student apply early to Princeton?
Princeton offers single-choice early action, which is nonbinding: admitted students have until May 1 to decide. Applications are due November 1 with decisions in mid-December, and regular decision applications are due January 1 with decisions in late March (Princeton application dates and deadlines); for fall 2027 entry, that is November 1, 2026 and January 1, 2027. A student who applies early to Princeton “may not apply to an early program at any other private college or university within the United States,” with exceptions Princeton lists for nonbinding early programs at public institutions, service academies and international institutions, and for nonbinding rolling admission. In our view, applying early makes sense when Princeton is a clear first choice and the application, including the graded paper, is ready. Our guide to the Princeton early action acceptance rate covers the history.
Frequently Asked Questions About Princeton GPA Requirements
Princeton has no minimum GPA. Its admission FAQ says minimum grade point averages, class ranks and test scores are not required, and that it considers them within the context of each school and situation.
The Princeton Common Data Set for 2025-26 reports an average high school GPA of 3.96 for first-years who entered in fall 2025, with 99% of the class reporting a GPA.
In fall 2025, 72% of enrolled first-years who reported a GPA had a 4.0, and 96% had 3.75 or higher.
It is uncommon. In fall 2025, 3% of enrolled first-years who reported a GPA were between 3.50 and 3.74, and 1% were between 3.25 and 3.49.
Yes. Princeton is test optional for students entering in fall 2027 and will require the SAT or ACT from applicants seeking to enroll in fall 2028.
Princeton recommends four years of English, mathematics and one language, at least two years of laboratory science and at least two years of history, and says this is not a list of requirements.
Single-choice early action applications are due November 1, 2026, with decisions in mid-December. Regular decision applications are due January 1, 2027.
Oriel Admissions suggests reading the bands as a profile of the enrolled class rather than a cutoff, and treating Princeton as one of several reach schools.
Sources: Princeton admission FAQs, Princeton Common Data Set 2025-2026, Princeton, before you apply, Princeton application dates and deadlines, Princeton standardized testing, Princeton application checklist, Princeton profile, admission and costs, Harvard Common Data Set 2025-2026, Harvard admissions statistics, Yale Common Data Set 2025-2026, Yale College Class Profile, Fall 2026, Columbia College and Columbia Engineering CDS 2025-2026, Columbia Class of 2030 Profile, Penn Common Data Set 2025-2026, Brown Common Data Set 2025-2026, Brown admission numbers, Dartmouth Common Data Set 2025-2026, Dartmouth News, March 30, 2026, Cornell Common Data Set 2025-2026, Cornell University Factbook, MIT Common Data Set 2025-2026, MIT admissions statistics, Stanford Common Data Set 2025-2026. All read October 26 and 27, 2026.
About Oriel Admissions
Oriel Admissions is a college admissions consulting firm advising families nationwide on elite university admissions strategy, with offices in Princeton, New Jersey and New York. Our team pairs deep admissions expertise with a distinctive 360 approach spanning academic planning, extracurricular strategy, essays and application execution. To discuss your strategy, schedule a consultation.







